All About Writing

I’m a writer.  I’ve always been a writer.  I have always loved to write stories that sucked the reader in from the first few words and then didn’t let them get away.  I wanted people to be riveted.  I wanted them to be in the story.  I loved the way people’s eyes lit up when I hit a home run.

What I haven’t always been is an author.  There is a difference, you know.  Being a writer is something you don’t get to choose.  Either you are or you aren’t.  It’s in your blood.  For me, there has always been this little voice telling me to write.  But I never wrote for real until I was in my late thirties.  I wrote lots of boring technical stuff, but nothing that people would actually desire to read.  That’s why I haven’t been an author.

Authors write.  Authors take the stories that are in their head and put them to paper.  They take the writer’s desire and convert it into action.  That means that you can be a writer, but not an author.  Or, maybe you’re an author, but not a writer.  Lots of people write, but they don’t have that fire that makes them a writer.  And you can see it in their words.

What are you?  Are you a writer or are you an author?  Maybe you’re one of them; maybe you’re both.  Or maybe you’re neither and are just curious.  This blog is all about writers who want to be authors.  No, that’s not right.  It’s about writers who feel compelled to be authors, but don’t know exactly how to get there.

I want to spend some time talking about how writers can become authors.  There was a long period of time where I didn’t really know how to get there.  In some ways, that may seem silly.  If you want to write, then write, right?  For me, it wasn’t so simple.  I spent a lot of years thinking about it, but not doing it.  When I did really start looking at doing it, I didn’t know what to write about.  My brain felt devoid of ideas.  There wasn’t anything I was excited enough about to put the effort into.  Books are a lot of work.  A.  Lot.  Of.  Work.  Seriously. 

I believe that I’m not the only person out there who has had this problem.  I’m not an expert, but maybe I can help a little.  Maybe I can give the right perspective that will help someone make that jump from writer to author.  If I do that, then every sentence I write on this topic is worth it.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

