One Week to Launch! – and Other Assorted Thoughts

Well, it’s official.  I am now just under one week until my book launches.  I have to say that it is crazy weird.  I’ve been thinking about writing a novel for most of my life, and now it’s about to be real.   I mean really real.  Or Real.  I’ve had the book out on Goodreads for a while now and I’ve given away quite a few copies, but it is a completely different deal now.

All the bugs are worked out that are going to be worked out.  Everything is as it will be when I hit the little buttons that say publish.  I know that there isn’t going to be huge fanfair when I launch – there aren’t going to be people waiting with mouse pointers poised over the search button at 12:01, but it doesn’t matter.  I am reaching a life goal that has been haunting me since my teen years.  And I am thrilled.

The best part is that I have learned that this is what I want to do.  I know that writing really is what I was built to do.  I can’t say how many copies I’ll sell.  I can’t say whether I’ll ever be able to realize the dream of writing full time.  But I know that I feel great about the release date.  I feel great about having had the wherewithal to push through every grueling step in the writing process.

For those of you out there who know you are writers, but haven’t pushed yourselves to become authors, it can be done.  That is one thing I know.

Oh – by the way, I am having a giveaway for my book on Goodreads.  Click the link below if you would like to have a chance at winning an autographed copy.  Note: The giveaway is only open for the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Australia.

Goodreads Book Giveaway

The Timekeeper's Son by Mike E. Miller

The Timekeeper’s Son

by Mike E. Miller

Giveaway ends September 04, 2012.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

  1. #1 by Peggy Strack (@peggystrack) on August 28, 2012 - 11:33 am

    Congratulations Mike! I wish you all the best. It looks like a great read.

  2. #3 by The Writer's Codex on August 28, 2012 - 11:58 am

    Sound like you’ve got a pretty good perspective of who you are and where you’re at. Congratulations.

  3. #5 by Sarah Aisling (@SarahAisling) on August 28, 2012 - 8:55 pm

    So excited for you!

    Sarah

  4. #6 by Sandi on August 28, 2012 - 9:10 pm

    I’m reading and enjoying! Your opening had me all O.O!

    • #7 by Mike E. Miller on August 28, 2012 - 9:14 pm

      Thank you both so much! Sandi, I hope you love it.

Leave a Reply

